A library card is provided free of charge to any resident of the state of Nevada. Apply for one at any library branch or online. Library cards expire on a regular basis. Cards may be renewed if all outstanding fines and fees are paid in full and must be done in-person at a local branch. We require a valid photo identification and proof of current address to renew your card. Only one card is allowed per person.
Show a valid, official photo identification from District-approved agencies or resources and verify your current Nevada address and birth date.
If you apply online, you must show valid, official photo identification as described above before checking out materials.
A post office box is acceptable for a mailing address provided that the Library also has your residential address on file.
You must be present when obtaining a new or replacement library card and when verifying/renewing your account.
For patrons under the age of 14, a parent/legal guardian must provide identification and sign the application. By establishing an account, the parent/legal guardian accepts financial responsibility for the materials checked out by his or her minor child and acknowledges that it is his or her responsibility to guide the selection of materials checked out by their minor child.
If you do not have a current Nevada address, you may apply for a guest library card by providing photo identification with your birthdate and current out-of-state address. The guest card will expire three months from the day the card is issued. The guest card may be renewed as long as there are no outstanding fines or fees. The Library reserves the right to assess a yearly fee for a guest card.
When borrowing materials you must have a valid library card. You are responsible for the return of all materials borrowed on your card and will be held financially responsible for any fines or fees associated with items on your record.
- You must notify the Library immediately if your library card is lost or stolen.
- Parents/legal guardians are responsible for the items checked out and for the fines or fees associated with his or her minor child’s library card.
- Parents/legal guardians are responsible for guiding their minor child’s selection of library materials.
- Library materials may be returned to any of the Las Vegas-Clark County Library branches.
- The Library is not responsible for damage incurred to your personal property due to the use of library materials.
You will lose your borrowing privileges if any of the following occur:
- the borrowing limit has been reached
- bills or overdue fines have reached the maximum allowed
- items are more than ten days overdue
- your library card has expired.
A lost or stolen library card must be reported immediately to the Library. The cardholder will be held responsible for materials checked out on his or her card until the Library is notified. Once the Library has been notified, the card will be blocked to prevent any more materials circulating on the card. The cardholder must show photo identification to request a replacement library card. All charges or loans attached to the lost card will be transferred to the new card.
|Material Type||Loan Period|
|New Books||14 days|
|DVDs (1-2 discs)||7 days|
|DVDs (3+ discs)||14 days|
Nevada residents may check out up to 50 circulating items on a library card at any one time. Please note that residents of North Las Vegas and Boulder City are subject to the policies and procedures of their library districts.
Materials may be renewed provided there are no outstanding requests and you have a valid library card in good standing. Some designated high demand items may have more limited renewal privileges.
Loan periods for eMedia vary, please see eResources by format for details.
Titles may be placed on request provided that no overdue items exist on your card and fines do not exceed $10. There is a limit of 25 items on request at a time.
As a courtesy, the Library sends overdue and request notices via email. To register or change your current email address, please visit your nearest library branch, or log into your account and select My Settings to receive notices and occasional Library and Foundation communications via email. For those patrons without email, only billing notices will be sent via postal mail. A bill includes the cost of the lost items, processing and replacement charges and possible collection agency service fees.
Accounts owing a minimum balance of $25 will be referred to a collection agency. A nonrefundable collection fee of $10 will be assessed to your account when it is referred to a collection agency.
A parent/legal guardian may request overdue information on their child’s library card for those children under the age of 14, if:
- Parent/legal guardian has the child’s card with them.
- Parent/legal guardian has photo identification with same address as that listed on his or her child's library card.
You will be assessed overdue fines and replacement fees for damaged or lost items according to the Fines and Fees Schedule, which is subject to change. Overdue fines are assessed from the first day or hour items are overdue on a per item basis. No overdue fines are assessed on paperbacks, magazines or children’s materials. If the items are not returned, however, a bill for the items, including a replacement fee, will be mailed.
When an uncataloged item such as a paperback, comic book or magazine is lost, you may elect to pay the cost of the item or provide an equivalent item to replace the one that was lost. The replacement will be accepted as long is it is in good condition and is a title currently owned by the Library.
Fines and fees do not apply to eMedia, as titles automatically expire on their due dates.
Fines over $10 or failure to return items will result in suspension of borrowing privileges.
|Replacement library card||$1|
|Insufficient funds||$25 per returned check|
|Collection agency service fee||$10|
|Overdue items||25 cents per day, $4 per item maximum|
|Overdue fine threshold||$10|
|Lost, stolen or damaged items||Full cost of the item plus *processing fee and collection agency fee, if applicable.|
|Interlibrary Loan (ILL) materials||Fees vary and are determined by the lending library|
|Lost or damaged Interlibrary Loan Bookstrap||$3|
|Lost or damaged audio-visual case, multimedia bag, insert or graphic||$2|
|Lost single disc from a set (full replacement may be charged)||$10|
|Lost or damaged Hotspot box||$4|
|Lost or damaged Hotspot charger||$12|
|Lost or damaged Hotspot SIM card||$10|
*Processing Fees: These are charges in addition to the full cost of the item if an item is lost or returned damaged.
|DVDs, audio-visual instructional titles and
14–day loan books
|Other cataloged items||$5|
|Uncataloged items||No processing fee|